Happy Thanksgiving

Every year we are told to be thankful and to tell the people who mean the most to us, Thank You. This year I am more thankful than anything ever before. However, as I look around it seems as if Thanksgiving has almost lost its luster to corporate America as Black Friday has now started on Thanks-Thursday. Do you really want to let that $100 discount on a TV take you away from your family during this special time of the year? Be thankful for your family and everyone else and let them know.

1. I am thankful for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ who died on the cross so I am able to repent my sins everyday. In the last year I have drawn closer to him and really thank his guiding hand in my life.

2. My beautiful wife. Never in my life did I think I would fall in love with such an amazing women. Growing up I was told it is funny how you typically marry someone that is very similar to your own mother…well just 2 days ago Jenna was looking at a picture and said, “You know, I could pass off as your mom’s daughter”. But it’s not just her looks, my wife absolutely LOVES basketball. She will DVR Dancing with the Stars or Glee so I can watch a basketball game. But never has she been so supportive of me as she has this year as I have gotten back into coaching. I am very excited and cannot wait for us to be blessed with a new addition to our family (praying every night about it). {Along with my wife, I cannot forget my MAIN MAN Marley, the coolest dog in the world.}

3. My family (& friends). I would not be where I am today without my family. They have shaped me into the man I am today and hope to continue to become. I feel very honored to be finally following in my fathers’ footsteps and coaching. There is nothing I love more than talking hoops with him. Without my mom…well I wouldn’t know how to cook! 🙂

4. FastModel Sports. Coming out of college, I had no idea where life was going to take me. Then Ross Comerford gave me a ring and proposed a temporary solution to my unemployment status. Little did I know, that three years later it would become a permanent solution to that temporary problem. Ross and everyone at FastModel Sports has helped shape me into a more patient and professional businessman. I also would not be able to coach this season without the compassion and understanding of Ross, Albert Tsai, and everyone else in the company. I cannot THANK everyone there enough for their willingness and understanding to allow me to coach.

4. Coach Guttery and Fort Myers High School. I am very blessed and thankful for the opportunity that I have been given to be an assistant coach on one of the best high school basketball programs in the State. The last three years the cobwebs have been forming and my mind racing in frustration because I was missing the bouncing of the ball and the squeaking of sneakers on the hardwood. We are only a month into the season and I feel like I never missed a beat, I am very excited about this season and this great group of kids.

5. Lastly (I am sure I forgot to mention someone in here and will probably add before Turkey day is over), I cannot write this without giving thanks to ALL of our troops who have and are still fighting for our freedoms everyone around the World. It takes truly special individuals to go fighting for our freedoms and safety for EVERYONE in other war ruined countries. I am also very thankful that those who I grew up with and were basketball teammates of that served this great country have made it back to the United States and are able to be home for the Holidays for the first time in a long time. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

Whether you eat McDonalds, Boston Market, or are blessed with a home-cooked Thanksgiving meal, don’t forget to say thank you. Pick up the phone and call a special friend or long lost relative that you have not spoken to in awhile, I guarantee you will light up their day.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Keep bouncin…

Posted on November 24, 2011, in Today's Bounce. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

COMMENT BELOW:

